Bachelor of English and Communication Studies (BECS)

Bachelor of English and Communication Studies (BECS)

The Bachelor of English and Communication Studies (BECS) is an innovative program that blends academic rigor with professional training. This course is designed to equip graduates with comprehensive English and communication knowledge and skills, meeting national and international demands for proficient communicators and dedicated academics.


The objectives of the BECS program are to:

  • Develop analytical skills by introducing students to critical thinking and interdisciplinary knowledge in English and Communication Studies.
  • Cultivate the ability to shape ideas and foster values.
  • Enhance students’ personal and professional qualifications.
  • Promote a spirit of critical inquiry, ethical responsibility, and personal fulfillment.
  • Encourage lifelong learning.

Career Opportunities

Graduates of the BECS program are well-prepared for professional roles in various national and international organizations where English is the primary medium of communication. Career opportunities include:

  • Government agencies and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).
  • Civil societies and research institutions.
  • International bodies such as the United Nations, foreign diplomatic missions, and multilateral and bilateral development agencies.
  • Private sector roles in foreign companies, tourism, import-export, banking and finance, and English-based media.
  • Entrepreneurial ventures where English is the official language.

Course Structure and Curriculum

The BECS program spans four years, divided into eight semesters (two semesters per year), with a total of 120 credits. The course structure is as follows:

First Year

  • Semester I
    • Critical and Creative Writing (3 credits)
    • Approaches to Literary Studies (3 credits)
    • Logic and Critical Thinking (3 credits)
    • Introduction to Communication Studies (3 credits)
    • English Language: Past, Present, and Future (3 credits)
  • Semester II
    • Religion, Philosophy, and Ethics (3 credits)
    • History of Science (3 credits)
    • Nepal Studies (3 credits)
    • Intercultural Communication (3 credits)
    • Writing for the Media (3 credits)

Second Year

  • Semester III
    • Civic Responsibility, Diversity, and Ethnicity (3 credits)
    • Computer Application (3 credits)
    • Cultural Anthropology (3 credits)
    • International Business Communication (3 credits)
    • Journalism: Theory and Practice (3 credits)
  • Semester IV
    • Humanities through the Arts (3 credits)
    • History of Knowledge (3 credits)
    • Methods of Research (3 credits)
    • Writing for Tourism, Culture, and Country Promotion (3 credits)
    • Environmental Issues, Communication, and the Media (3 credits)

Third Year

  • Semester V
    • Written and Oral Communication (3 credits)
    • Introduction to Linguistics (3 credits)
    • Introduction to Translation (3 credits)
    • Literatures in English (3 credits)
    • Contemporary Rhetorical Theory (3 credits)
  • Semester VI
    • Law and Society (3 credits)
    • Business, Technical, and Literary Translation (3 credits)
    • Literary Theory and Criticism (3 credits)
    • Writing for Film, Radio, and Television (3 credits)
    • New Media (3 credits)

Fourth Year

  • Semester VII
    • Analyzing Text (3 credits)
    • Conference Interpreting and Translation (3 credits)
    • Interpersonal Communication (3 credits)
    • Copy Editing (3 credits)
    • English for Teaching and Corporate Training (3 credits)
  • Semester VIII
    • English in the Workplace (3 credits)
    • Research Methodology in Communications Studies (3 credits)
    • Public Speaking (3 credits)
    • Language, Culture, and Society (3 credits)
    • Project Work (3 credits)

NB: Courses are not semester-bound, they are free to move up and down as per need. 

Faculty (Part-time/ Full-time)

  • Prof. Dr. Shreedhar P. Lohani
  • Prof. Dr. Sushil Pandey
  • Prof. Dr. Arun Gupto
  • Prof. Dr. Deborah Merola
  • Dr. Lucia Dura
  • Professor Dr. Mary Battenfield
  • Assoc. Professor Bhusan Aryal
  • Professor Santosh Khadka
  • Dr. Puspa Damai
  • Dr. Tika Ram Poudel
  • Dr. Dharma Adhikari
  • Dr. Hari Adhikari
  • Dr. Puspa Damai
  • Prof. Dr. Satis Ojha
  • Mr. Ajaya Bhadra Khanal
  • Mr. Krishna Prasad Niroula 
  • Dr. B. Sharma
  • Mr. P. Poudel
  • Mr. Kumar Adhikari